title image

The Award

About Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Awards

Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award was established in 2002 to recognize and honour the best in financial leadership. Over the years, the Awards have evolved to recognize the dynamic role of finance executives and their teams within the shifting business landscape.

Award Categories


Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Awards are given annually to three financial leaders who have made outstanding contributions to business in Canada through inspirational leadership, social responsibility, business performance, financial accountability, innovation, and mentoring and development.


The winners are chosen by the Selection Committee, an independent group of Canadian business leaders with a diverse range of experiences and perspectives. The three award winners are recognized at an annual reception in Toronto.



The winners will receive Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award and a financial contribution to the charity of their choice. Their accomplishments will be highlighted on Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Awards website. The winner will also receive:


Media & promotional activity

  • Featured interview in the Behind the Boardroom content series
  • Photography and videos to be used in promotion of the CFOY program
  • Tribute video showcased at celebration event
  • Recognition in Canadian media publications
  • Participation in the CFOY Selection Committee the following year
  • Opportunities to present at national speaking engagements with presenting sponsors


Celebration night

  • Invitation to VIP reception (including invitations for finalists’ special guests)
  • Invitation to celebration event

The Awards are presented by Financial Executives International (FEI) Canada, PwC Canada, and Robert Half.