title image

The Award

About Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award

Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award was established in 2002 to recognize and honour the best in financial leadership. Over the years, the Award has evolved to recognize the dynamic role of finance executives and their teams within the shifting business landscape.

The Award


Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award is given annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to business in Canada through inspirational leadership, social responsibility, business performance, financial accountability, innovation, and mentoring and development.


The winner will be chosen by the Selection Committee, an independent group of Canadian business leaders with a diverse range of experiences and perspectives. The award winner will be announced March 9, 2020 and will be honoured at the award celebration on April 28, 2020.

The Winner


The winner will receive Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award and a financial contribution to the charity of their choice. Their accomplishments will be highlighted on Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award website. The winner will also receive:


Media & promotional activity

  • Featured interview in the Behind the Boardroom content series
  • Photography and videos to be used in promotion of the CFOY program
  • Tribute video showcased at celebration event
  • Recognition in Canadian media publications
  • Participation in the CFOY Selection Committee the following year
  • Opportunities to present at national speaking engagements with presenting sponsors


Award Celebration

  • Invitation to VIP reception (including invitations for winners’ special guests)
  • Invitation to award celebration

The Award is presented by Financial Executives International (FEI) Canada, PwC Canada, and Robert Half.